Your privacy choice

You can allow Facebook advertising and personalization so we can show ads to people who visited Resting Sycamore. Facebook and Google Tag Manager receive a generic Resting Sycamore site visit, not which page you viewed, what you searched for, or anything you type into a form. As with ordinary web requests, they also receive routine network information such as your IP address, browser or device details, timestamps, and identifiers or cookies they may already recognize.

Skip to content
Speak with Peter 938-238-5652

Allegheny County nursing home profile

Canterbury Place

CMS public datasets and CMS inspection records. Measurements are attributed to source files. Nothing here is medical, legal or financial advice.

Last Updated: July 29, 2026

Where these numbers come from, and what they cannot tell you

Public CMS nursing home and provider datasets, CMS inspection records, and provider-family source captures. These are historical measurements and official-source excerpts, not medical advice, not quality recommendations, not proof of plan network status, and not a check on what any Medicare plan covers. Resting Sycamore is not Medicare.gov and is not endorsed by any government agency.

What does CMS report about Canterbury Place at a glance?

The basics, current CMS ratings, and attributed flags in one place.

identity
Canterbury Place
310 FISK STREET, PITTSBURGH, PA 15201 · 4126229000
115 certified beds · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid certified
CMS star ratings with state percentile
Overall
2 of 5 · 43.1%
Health inspection
2 of 5 · state percentile not reported
Staffing
5 of 5 · state percentile not reported
Quality measures
1 of 5 · state percentile not reported
tick = PA median. Ratings are assigned by CMS.
signal chips
Abuse indicator YesSpecial Focus Facility NoSFF candidate list NoDays with no RN on site 0%Nursing turnover 41.6% vs PA 44.5%Fines, 3 yr $0
trajectory and survey clock
8 QUARTER TREND
Not enough history in available CMS data snapshot
Current CMS overall rating: 2
LAST INSPECTED
2026-01-16
2026-01-16. 194 days before the CMS release date.
Attribution. Adverse signals on this page are CMS-attributed measurements from public source snapshots, not Resting Sycamore conclusions.

What stands out in the CMS data for Canterbury Place?

A short, field-derived read of the measures surfaced on this page.

Quick read
Canterbury Place is a 115 bed Non profit - Corporation nursing facility in PITTSBURGH, PA. CMS recorded no fines and no payment denials for this facility in the last three years. CMS cited this facility at the immediate jeopardy level 1 time(s) in the last three years. Immediate jeopardy is the most serious category CMS uses. CMS has applied its abuse indicator to this facility, which it does when a recent inspection cited abuse related deficiencies. Weekend staffing ran about 14.5% below weekday staffing. If you are considering this facility, the tour questions below were selected from these specific findings.

How does staffing look in the CMS payroll data?

Daily payroll data supports the staffing, weekend and temporary-staff measurements.

care minutes per resident per day, by role
RN time
1.27 hrs
LPN time
25 min
Aide time
2.49 hrs
Total nursing
4.18 hrs
Case-mix adjusted CMS values. Raw total nursing HPRD: 3.96.
weekend gap, derived from PBJ daily rows
Mon
3.89
Tue
4.14
Wed
4.28
Thu
4.28
Fri
4.08
Sat
3.68
Sun
3.39
Weekday 4.13 hrs · Weekend 3.53 hrs · 14.5% lower on weekends
stability and coverage
MeasureHerePA
Total nursing turnover41.6%44.5%
RN turnover43.8%not benchmarked
Administrators departed, 12 mo0not benchmarked
Hours from temporary staff1.1%11.3%
Days with no RN on site0%not benchmarked
state staffing standard
PA standard shown for context: 3.2 direct-care HPRD · Pennsylvania direct-care staffing standard, 3.2 hours per resident day effective July 1, 2024. CMS total nursing HPRD and the state direct-care standard are not identical calculations.

What did recent inspections cite, and is official narrative available?

CMS Health Deficiencies rows stay the citation spine. CMS Form 2567 inspection content is shown for this facility's cited F-tags and survey dates.

CMS scope and severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
J 1
K
L
Actual harm
G
H
I
No harm, potential
D 15
E 3
F
Minimal harm
A
B
C
Shaded cells were cited in the latest survey cycle. Down and right is more serious.
Deficiency trend
Health deficiencies by cycle: 19, then 16, then 7. Latest survey date: 2026-01-16.
Repeat citations
TagPlain EnglishPreviousLatestSev
F0600Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and resident-care concern by anybody.prior cyclelatest cycleD
F0657Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.prior cyclelatest cycleE
F0684Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.prior cyclelatest cycleD
F0686Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.prior cyclelatest cycleD
F0695Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.prior cyclelatest cycleD
F0849Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.prior cyclelatest cycleE
F0880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.prior cyclelatest cycleD
CMS data shows 7 repeat deficiency tags between the latest two cycles.
Recent citations
DateTagCategorySevFound howCorrected
2026-01-16F0550Resident Rights DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0578Resident Rights DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0580Resident Rights DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0585Resident Rights DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0699Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0849Administration DeficienciesEstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0868Administration DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
2026-01-16F0880Infection Control DeficienciesDstandard2026-02-23
Official CMS inspection narrative
F0550 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0578 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0580 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0585 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0657 · 2026-01-16 · severity E

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0686 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0695 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0699 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0756 · 2026-01-16 · severity E

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0761 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0849 · 2026-01-16 · severity E

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0868 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

F0880 · 2026-01-16 · severity D

Official inspection narrative not available for this citation.

Source rule. Official inspection text is quoted verbatim only when an official CMS Form 2567 source matches the CMS citation row. Citations without a matching official narrative remain labeled as not available.

A licensed agent — not a call center

Check whether your doctors and drugs fit before you enroll

Peter Abilla, Licensed Medicare Insurance Sales Agent, NPN 22265186. Licensed in Alabama, California, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Michigan, and Illinois. You reach the same person every call — no transfer queue.

Who does CMS report as owning or operating this facility?

Ownership data is shown as CMS-reported structure. Low-confidence chain claims are suppressed.

chain rollup, CMS-corroborated
This facility is one of 8 nursing homes in the CMS chain field for UPMC SENIOR COMMUNITIES.
CHAIN AVG STARS
3
CHAIN AVG TURNOVER
49.1%
CHAIN FINES
$86,964
BELOW 3 STARS
3
ownership structure
OwnerTypeRole%Since
UPMC SENIOR COMMUNITIES INCorganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%not reported
UPMCorganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%not reported
BAKER TILLY US, LLPorganizationADP OF THE SNFnot reported—
OAKDALE SENIORS ALLIANCE LLCorganizationADP OF THE SNFnot reported—
RHOADS, CHARLESindividualADP OF THE SNFnot reported—
UPMCorganizationADP OF THE SNFnot reported—
UPMC SENIOR COMMUNITIES INCorganizationADP OF THE SNFnot reported—
BRODINE, DEBORAHindividualCORPORATE DIRECTORnot reported—
HAMILTON, RICHARDindividualCORPORATE DIRECTORnot reported—
JOY, MARGARETindividualCORPORATE DIRECTORnot reported—
Ownership change on record: none reported. Correlation claims are not made.
sibling facilities, internal linking
Other homes, same ownerStateStarsTurnoverFines 3 yr
UPMC MAGEE-WOMENS HOSPITAL TCUPA525.8%$0
Ownership information is self-reported to CMS. Entity-resolution confidence for this page: high. No chain averages are emitted at low confidence.

What questions should you bring on a facility tour?

Use these as practical questions for a facility tour or follow-up call.

selected from this building's own data
Because the data showsAsk them
7 deficiencies were cited at two or more inspections in a row“What specifically changed after the last inspection, and may I see the plan of correction?”
Long stay antipsychotic use is 30.4% against 17.7% statewide“How do you handle dementia related agitation before reaching for medication, and who reviews those prescriptions?”
Weekend staffing runs 14.5% below weekday staffing“Who is on the floor on a Saturday night, and how many residents does each aide cover then?”
Infection prevention and control was cited at consecutive inspections“Who runs your infection prevention program, and what changed after the most recent citation?”
Falls with major injury are 7% against 3.1% statewide“What is your fall prevention process, and how quickly are call bells answered on this unit?”
Pressure sore rate is 7.1% against 4.8% statewide“How often are residents who cannot move on their own repositioned, and who checks that it happened?”
This facility is one of 8 run by the same owner group“Who makes staffing and budget decisions for this building, the administrator here or the corporate office?”
Download the printable checklistEmail me a copyAdd my own questions

Which nearby facilities are reasonable alternatives to compare?

This facility stays first, followed by nearby facilities in the current verified provider page set.

sortable, this facility pinned row 1
FacilityMilesStarsRN minTurnoverWent homeReadmitFines 3yr
Canterbury Place (this one)027641.6%Not reported—$0
IVY PARK POST ACUTE1.922360.3%Not reported—$14,069
SPRING HILL REHABILITATION AND NURSING CENTER1.91Not reported———$8,780
EAST END HEALTH & REHAB CENTER235558.4%Not reported—$0
UPMC MAGEE-WOMENS HOSPITAL TCU2518325.8%Not reported—$0
CHAMPION CITY NURSING AND REHABILITATION CENTER2.61Not reported60.7%Not reported—$7,656
CONCORDIA OF THE SOUTH HILLS8.857737.5%Not reported—$0
Providence Point Healthcare Residence9.24917.1%Not reported—$13,575

Where did this provider data come from, and how can it be corrected?

every dataset, dated
DatasetReleasedCadence
Nursing Home Chain Performance Measures Jun 20262026-07-15periodic
Fire Safety Deficiencies2026-07-29monthly
SNF Cost Report 20232025-12-19annual
Health Deficiencies2026-07-29monthly
PBJ Daily Nurse Staffing Q1 20262026-07-29quarterly
Penalties2026-07-29monthly
Provider Information2026-07-29monthly
Medicare Claims Quality Measures2026-07-29quarterly
MDS Quality Measures2026-07-29quarterly
Ownership2026-07-29quarterly
SNF CHOW Q2 20262026-07-27quarterly
Special Focus Facility list + candidate list via Provider Information Special Focus Status field2026-07-29monthly
Survey Summary2026-07-29monthly
Data source: CMS, releases as dated above.
methods and corrections
Percentiles are computed from CMS fields in the same source snapshot. Repeat citations are a self-join on CCN and F-tag across consecutive survey cycles. Chain grouping uses CMS chain fields and CMS ownership rows, biased to low confidence when uncertain. Ownership information is self-reported to CMS.

Not connected with or endorsed by the United States government or the federal Medicare program.

Request a correction

Use this form to prepare the information needed for Resting Sycamore to review a correction or removal request.

Facility on this pageCanterbury Place
CCN 395146
This form prepares a copy-ready correction request. Final intake, review, and page changes remain part of the approved human correction/removal process.
method questions

Where does this data come from? Data source: CMS public datasets, with release dates listed above.

How can a facility operator request a correction? Use this form to request a correction or removal.

What disclosures apply to this facility page?

required disclosures, verbatim
Not connected with or endorsed by the United States government or the federal Medicare program · Data source: CMS, with release dates · Ownership information is self-reported to CMS · Request a correction · Nothing here is medical, legal or financial advice